Ice Cream Sunday

On Sunday, I took part in an annual event that I’ve been a part of for about a year now.

Ice Cream Sunday is one of the biggest events at the Farm and Ranch Museum. It’s pretty much an event all about America’s bestselling dessert. And seeing as it falls on National Ice Cream Day, it’s a win-win.

I worked at the ice cream in a bag station. If you don’t know what that is, Google “how to make ice cream in a bag”. But pretty much what you do is put your ice cream fixings in a quart freezer bag, and then fill up a gallon freezer bag with ice and rock salt (or ice cream salt, which is the same thing, I think). You place the quart bag into the gallon bag, shake it for 5-10 minutes or until it solidifies, and boom! Homemade ice cream without an ice cream maker.

The kids and parents really seemed to enjoy making it. And I enjoyed showing them how.

—-

Ice cream has always been a favorite food of mine. Whenever I eat it, it brings back good memories. I usually connect it with my Grandma.

If it was one thing she loved to eat, it was ice cream. I suppose it comes from having grown up on a dairy farm. Papa, my great grandfather, raised cows. In fact, we have a recipe of his that we use to make our own homemade ice cream–with a few tweaks. But apparently they ate a lot of ice cream. And at the Thames family reunion, Papa’s ice cream was always for dessert.

One brand all of us love is Blue Bell, and for a while the only place you could get it was Texas. I tell ya, the day they started selling it in New Mexico, we praised God.

When she was diagnosed with dementia, she became lactose intolerant, which was a mortal blow to her. As a result, we could only have it once in a while, and we had to be careful where we ate it. But she still loved it.

If there’s one regret I have, it’s not getting her ice cream one last time…

*ahem*Sorry, I didn’t mean to get sappy. Let’s get back to Sunday’s event.

—-

Another big part of the event is the ice cream sandwich eating contest. That’s a huge draw. This year I was a judge. I had to make sure all of the sandwich was gone before they could be declared a winner.

They all did a great job, and the guy who won last year won again this year. It was a blast.

I look forward to next year. Maybe I’ll enter the contest myself.

By the way, what are your favorite ice cream flavors? Mine are:

  1. Vanilla
  2. Butter pecan
  3. Mint chocolate chip
  4. Coffee
  5. Strawberry
  6. Pralines & pecans
Leave a Reply

